Maine Passes “First-of-Its-Kind” Paid Leave Law

The state of Maine has passed legislation which will require private employers with 10 or more employees to provide paid leave.

The law, which will go into effect on January 1, 2021, is being called the “first-of-its-kind” because employees can use this leave for any reason.

According to Epstein Becker Green:

“Under the Law, employees will accrue one hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked, up to a maximum of 40 hours of paid leave per year.”

For more information regarding this new leave law and qualifying employer details, please click here.


The information included in this blog post originally appeared in an article from Epstein Becker Green on June 5, 2019 written by Susan Gross Sholinsky and Nancy Gunzenhauser Popper.

sick leave

Learn More About Our HR Related Services