NJ Minimum Wage Bill Moves Forward, Paid Sick Leave Vote Delayed
New Jersey moves another step closer to increasing the minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2021 with the passing of the bill in the state assembly. The bill now moves on to the state senate, where it is expected to be approved. The first phase of the minimum wage increase would occur on January 1, 2017, increasing the current minimum wage to $10.10, followed by an annual increase of $1.25 per year until it reaches $15 in 2021. In anticipation of the bill being passed, employers should review their employee population to determine the effects of these increases on their staff and budgets.
Additionally, the Paid Sick Leave Act has been put on hold by the New Jersey legislature. While the amended bill passed the state senate in March, legislators must now reach agreement on certain aspects of the bill pertaining to how the law will impact small employers.
For more information, please click here.