A revived New Parental Leave Act would require employers in California “with 20 or more employees within a 75-mile radius of the workplace” to provide six weeks of “baby-bonding” time to new parents. The bill would cover those who have been employed by the company for at least 12 months and have worked a minimum of 1,250 hours. Eligible employees would be able to add the six week “baby-bonding” leave onto the existing four months of pregnancy disability leave. Additionally, the six week leave can be taken any time within the first year of the child’s birth, adoption, or foster care placement. Businesses in California should be aware of the potential impact to their teams as the bill is expected to be passed before the close of the current legislative session.
For more information, please click here.